Oslo, Norway

“take the T-bane out to the local trail system (which is very well marked & has ‘sports cabins’ along the way). Actually did a great run a few years ago from Holmenkollen to Songsvann – ski jump museum to start & a jump in the lake to finish if you’re feeling brave!”

-Kari V.

This was great advice and just what I wanted to hear when I put a call out to Facebook last for recommendations trail runs accessible by public transport from Oslo.

Planning

So I used the app, View Ranger, to plot a route from Holmenkollen to Songsvann, using Google Maps when needed to actually locate these places on ViewRanger’s map. I wanted to do 30KM plus but there were so many trails visible of ViewRanger, it is possible to do any mileage in this vast trail system.

IMG_0482 I used Googlemaps to plot a route from my hotel to the start of my run, Holmenkollen. My route consisted of the number 31 bus followed by the No.1 T-bane.

Ticket

The best option for ticketing was to get an app called Ruterbillet which allowed me to purchase a 24hour Zone 1 pass, Zone 1 covers Oslo and surrounding neighborhoods, including the T-bane train so I was able to use the 24 hour pass to get from my hotel to the T-Bane station at Stortinget and on the T-bane Number 1 headting towards Frognerseteren, up to Holmenkollen. It would also get me back to my hotel from Songsvann (T-Bane number 5). Once you have the pass on your phone you don’t need to scan it or  show it to anyone unless an inspector gets on.

IMG_0486

Route

The route started off on road then, after the Holmenkollen ski jump went into a nice dry singletrack trail. Before I knew it I was on mountain bike trails, thankfully I didn’t meet any bikes but I was hyper aware of

a. Perhaps, as a runner, I was not permitted on these trails?

b. I might get hit/cause a biker to have an accident trying to avoid me

IMG_0493

After a couple of KM I was off mountain bike trails and did not end up back on them again. The rest of the route was approx;

80% Dry singletrack

IMG_0491

10% Fire-service road

IMG_0495

8% Marshy-grass

IMG_0506

2% Slick rock

Sorry no photo, but think running on bare rock.

Insects

Insects got worse in the second half, in fact avoiding the mosquitoes kept me running! I didn’t notice insects in the first half of the run, it was mid June and about 20oC(approx 70F).

Amenities

This might seem like a weird category for a trail run but there were huts on this run selling drinks and snacks! All huts I came across were on the ViewRanger map, many were closed. I stopped at a hut at the most northerly part of my route, I got a cola, used their power to charge my phone (ViewRanger is hard on phone battery) and filled my water bladder.

There were many lakes on the route and a river near the end should you want to top up your water more frequently.

Enjoyment

This route was super enjoyable with varied terrain and a comfortable level of challenge. I have highly impressed with Oslo as a city with an extensive trail network accessible by public transport. As I mentioned at the start you could run loops taking in 100’s of KM or 5KM, it’s a trail running heaven up there 🙂

3 thoughts on “Oslo, Norway”

  1. Hey Sara,

    Congrats on the blog – looks really good and a good read. Found all info at the correct level of interesting balanced with needed facts. Really liked the info that you provided about the bus/rail ticket really handy information for anyone going to Oslo.

    Good luck with Work Trip Running.

    Maggie x

    PS congrats on the great run at the weekend in Switzerland.

    Like

Leave a comment